Days of Gray

Sometimes I miss the black and white.
When I was sure of wrong and right.
Before the days of gray crept in,
Blurring lines of my vision.

Sometimes I think I should go back,
To days of white and nights of black.
It sure was sweet to be so smart,
Days of no doubt and wishful heart.

But those black nights–  they sure were long.
Dark and daunting. So much was wrong.
The more I learned, the less I knew.
Suddenly, I saw the grayish hue.

For weary eyes – a welcome sight.
I’ll take the gray, soft filtered light.
Questions abound. Uncertainty thrives.
Still better than righteous disguise.

There is one thing I do believe,
That is that most are confused, like me.
And those who believe still in black and white,
May someday see gray with 20/20 hindsight.

~ smj

10 Responses to “Days of Gray”

  1. Gray days…I like this a lot.

  2. I grew up struggling against the same limited vision. Funny how it seemed so simple in black and white. My dad’s favorite saying is – we don’t know what we don’t know. It is a scary and tentative realization.

  3. Grey –
    Glad you like this…. =) You can write me a SamIam poem anytime you’re ready…. ;)

    Jaymie,
    You’re dad sounds like a smart man… and, I think many of us go thru the limited vision….. and, the sudden reality of gray… confusing as it may be at time… I like it better than the black and white…

  4. Oh this one gets me all frizzy, like a staticky cat … declare any absolutes, anything as ONLY black and white, right or wrong, this or that and I get ferociously anti-whatever! LOL Great poem! “still better than a righteous disguise” … the soul demands integrity, we just rarely listen to it.

  5. This is beautiful and refreshing. Nice to meet you in the grey :)

  6. “life is much more successfully looked at from a single window” (Fitzgerald 9)but you could ask if the novel as a whole reflects or refutes that..

Trackbacks

talk to me...