Empty Spaces

Empty spaces remain still,
Through tides of wind and time.
Sand and dust and ink can’t fill,
The imprints left behind.

Life may end in sad good-byes,
That in time, they say, we forget.
But, I still see your fading eyes,
Still smell your last cigarette.

Once, I thought Time might bequeath,
A point when your shadow won’t roam,
When a precious moment is not bittersweet,
And my house is no longer your home.

But it’s not for Time to bestow such days,
This was never a plan promised by Time.
For Time knows memories are worth the pain,
And teaches without reason or rhyme.

~ smj

“Don’t let your soul get  lonely, child —
it’s only time; it will go by.
Don’t look for love in faces, places —
it’s in you; that’s where you’ll find kindness.

Be here.. be here now.. be here now..
be.. be here now.. be here now…”

Be Here Now, by Ray LaMontagne

6 Responses to “Empty Spaces”

  1. Read this one aloud. There is a rhythm in this poem, it is beautiful.

  2. Grief is always a difficult one to navigate. We go stumbling along believing that time is healing something and then it reappears in a full blown memory. We just keep working at weaving it in to who we are…

  3. I always feel memories give more pain than happiness. When these empty spaces will fill? Never???

  4. enreal –
    thank you… this is actually something I wrote a while back…. when I use to only write in rhyme format… I still like to rhyme… and, I do like my poems to have a rhythym… whether they rhyme or not… so, glad you felt that.

    jaymie,
    thanks, as usual, for visiting and your comments. I do appreciate it, and always look forward to what you will have to say. And, I agree, I don’t think time ever really “heals” such loss… I think, it just helps us get better at dealing with how to handle it…

    nelina,
    I supose, it depends on what one is remembering. there are some things, I chose to forget, or try to…… but, when it comes to the loss of a loved one.. then, I think, you have to try really hard to keep those good memories… and hopefully, someday, they can overshadow the bad memories and feelings of loss… “tis better to have loved and lost… than never to have loved at all”… I believe that… but, no.. I don’t think the loss ever goes away.. some holes in the heart, don’t ever fill… no… I believe that too.

Trackbacks

talk to me...

