Don’t you really want to know me?

Another night she sits at home,
She’s never felt so all alone.
When did it all just fall apart?
When did the loosing herself start?

Her man is just across the hall,
But, there’s so many built up walls,
Why does she try to act so strong?
She can’t even tell him what is wrong

If she could, she’d say,
Don’t you really want to know me?
Don’t you really want to see me?
Only then could you see through me,
To who I am.
Don’t you really want to hold me?
Don’t you really want to love me?
Not the person you want me to be,
But, who I am?

How can you say you love me?
Really care and appreciate me?
When you don’t even know me?
You don’t even want to know me, do you?
Do you?

Why is it I can read you?
Like a mystery novel, I read you,
Hear words that haven’t left your lips,
Yet you can’t hear me if I scream in your ear, can you?
Can you?

If you could, you’d hear,
Don’t you really want to know me?
Don’t you really want to see me?
Only then could you see through me,
To who I am.
Don’t you really want to hold me?
Don’t you really want to love me?
Not the person you want me to be,
But, who I am?

When did it get to be so tough?
When nothing ever seems enough?
His woman’s just a room away,
But he never knows the right thing to say,

If he did, he’d say,
Of course I really want to know you,
Yes, I really want to see you.
So that I can see right through you,
To who you are.

I want nothing more than to hold you,
To really feel you and to love you,
Not the person I want you to be,
But, who you are.
Won’t you show me who you are?
Won’t you love me for who I am?

~ smj (& co-wrote with some help from my friend, who then brilliantly put it to music.  Thanks Sam(youRnot ;)!  You Rock!  ;)

5 Comments to “Don’t you really want to know me?”

  1. the terrible blunt honesty of this hurts in the best way, like an incision to get the bullet out. reminds me almost too closely of two friends i have watched self-destruct, him continually rewriting his second-rate mystery novel to try to make it look like more than it ever was, never once patient enough to spend the hours and focus it would take to know and appreciate her beyond what he wanted out of her for himself, then just like in your piece with that closing wistful wishing from him, but still only pointing at her as if she were not longing to show rather than he not giving the time to see. sad, so very tragically sad

    i would love to hear this sung

    thank you and your friend for sharing it with us

    .m

    • magewing –
      yet, another great comment. yes, the situation you describe of your friends sounds familiar… and probably is all too common in a lot of relationships, I’m guessing. This poem, to me, is sort of a follow up to my other “Treat me like a Stranger” piece that I wrote quite some time earlier (and is not a song). This one, to me, at least has hope… and, shows a little more of a two-sided situation.

      It is much better with music… and, If I could share that part, I would. My friend co-wrote this, and then created the music for it, and sang it to me, and I must say… it blew me away.

      Once again, thank you for reading and your thoughts. Most appreciated.

  2. Wow! While reading, I was thinking this should be set to music. Very glad to see that was the case.

  3. Yes I can empathize here too and have written about this too. Life is not easy is it. xx great Post.

talk to me...

