Build Me Up, Tear Me Down

So high, I’m so high,
Feel the love all around.
Feels so good, so damn good,
I don’t want to come down.
But I know, Yes, I know I can’t stay here
Forever.

Build me up, a little more,
Whisper sweet nothings in my ear.
I’ll take it in, soak it up,
Just tell me what I want to hear,
Even though, we both know, none of it’s real,
Not really.

Build me up
Tear me down
You know I’m a giver
Whatever it takes
To make you
Feel better

Just a matter of time,
Til I fall, fall down hard,
To the sting of your words,
As you catch me off-guard,
Spiraling down, you beg me to please, just,
Stay down.

Hold me down, on the ground,
Same old dance, same old song.
Tell me why one more time,
This is where I belong,
Because we both know, this is for my,
Own good.

So, build me up
Tear me down
You know I’m a giver
Whatever it takes
To make you
Feel better

It’s not you, it’s just me,
It’s self sabotage.
Where weakness is strength,
A profound camouflage,
You think you’re so tough, but you
Need me.

~  smj


Anything But Down, Sheryl Crow

4 Comments to “Build Me Up, Tear Me Down”

  1. Nice work … I wish you strength as you weather these storms …

  2. thanks poetek. I’m ok… but, I’ll still take all the strength I can get from well wishes.. so, thanks again. ;)

  3. been there my friend :)

talk to me...

