Take Me Away

Take me away to another place,
Back in time to another day,
Far away from this rat race,
Yeah, take me.. take me…
Take me away.

Let my mind wander,
Off with yours.
To the ends of the earth,
Til we escape this world.
Follow the hypnotic beat of our hearts.
Wander off to the stars in a musical whirl.

Let me get lost,
Deep in your thoughts,
So free to be me,
This high can’t be bought,
Don’t want to come down from this fantasy
Can’t catch me, oh no. This girl can’t be caught.

Let me slip through,
The cracks in the floor,
Find my way back to you,
Like the waves to the shore.
Wash away sins, and regrets from the past,
Til the future’s wide open for us to explore.

Take me away to another place,
Back in time to another day,
Far away from this rat race,
Yeah, take me.. take me…
Take me away.

~ smj


“The world is full of compromise, the infinite red tape
But the music’s got the magic, it’s your one chance for escape
Turn me on, turn me up, it’s your turn to dream
A little magic power makes it better than it seems”
– Magic Power, Triumph

8 Comments to “Take Me Away”

  1. You and I are probably completely different, worlds apart, but in one way, at least, in the sentiment your poem expresses, it feels like we’re exactly the same. I really enjoyed reading this poem (twice). Thank you for putting it out there…

    • marstead – Thank you for the kind words and visit… much appreciated. Twice? Really? Well, then, thank you again! ;)
      This one, reads out like a song in my head… and I had a hard time getting the “chorus” to quit repeating itself to me for a bit…
      Take care.

  2. your writings illicit thoughts and sentiment darlin’.

  3. I love this! Is this a song? Right as I was typing that sentence I looked up at your comment to Marstead..Yeah….it TOTALLY sang itself in my head and brought tears to my eyes. Fills me with longing to just fly, fly, fly. I read it twice as well. Beautiful…

    Thank You!

  4. this resonates on a very personal level for me, Not Sam. yeah, I can relate way much. no surprise to find that marstaed and Forrestor have already found it. well…so it goes, eh?

talk to me...

