ants

busy little ants

constructing empires of dirt

clouds loom unnoticed

 

 ~ smj

“All we do, crumbles to the ground, though we refuse to see
Dust in the wind, All we are is dust in the wind”
– Dust in the Wind, by Kansas

13 Comments to “ants”

  1. Hi!
    I like that this moves from little ants to huge clouds image-wise. Empires of dirt indeed.
    Oops, I think this haiku is reinforcing certain negative brainpans….

  2. *grin*

    Those damned clouds – sinister touch to a piece that would otherwise have been too pollyanna.

    Always the threat of rain to wash away the hard work…

    Good write.

    M.L.

  3. I dig Haikus…
    Constructing bridges to my favorite writers!!!

  4. ZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Ants, specially the small red ones, and the giant black colored ones.. make me squirmy!

    They might be small, but they are terrifying!

  5. love this,
    the image is vivid.

  6. Jingle Poetry Monday Potluck is open Now,
    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/10/poetry-potluck-halloween.html

    Welcome Linking in any poem, join the fun today!
    hope to see you in,
    keep writing,
    Happy November,

  7. I hate ants…
    Crawling all single file looking for something to bring home..
    Ugh!!

  8. thanks all. =) Sorry for such a long delay in my response! I was busy with my empire of dirt… It’s good to be back and see your nice comments. …glad you liked this. =)

  9. Glad you have an empire of dirt! Like your empire of haiku, too…

  10. I had to come back and “like” this haiku :)

    • =) thanks for the effort – seriously – I know how hard it is to find the time these days for myself as well. glad you liked this one. =) it’s sorta sad, but true, isn’t it?

talk to me...

