Pull Myself Together

I walk a fine line
between
who I am
who I was                       
and
                                     who I’d like to be
continually trying
to pull
my        self
together

===

I wrote the above words just as part of a comment that I made to my friend, enreal  (http://enreal.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/i-simply-dont-know ), and felt it so much when I re-read it, that I needed to post it here as a poem. It’s so simple… but truly captures so much of how I often feel…

~ smj

 
“And I’m a million different people from one day to the next”
The Verve – Bitter Sweet Symphony

10 Comments to “Pull Myself Together”

  1. Excellent shape poem Sam. I guess you would call it a shape poem, or a concrete poem. I like the way you created the “fragmentation” of your condition. My instructor would flip for this one. I’m terrible at these, I’m lucky to write a straight line.

    • Charles –
      I’m not sure what that is called… but, just seemed like the thing to do. =) We haven’t really discussed these type of poems yet in the class I’m taking now, so, not sure how well it would go over. I’m glad you liked it though… and, I should be so luck to be able to write as “straight of a line” as you.
      Thanks.

  2. A road I think we all try to walk…but so well expressed in these lines.

  3. As always… and all over again… humbled by your words… blessings my friend!

  4. Evolution can be a beautiful thing
    interrupted with stops and fits of hesitation
    shifts into reverse and the occasional grinding of gears.

    short, sweet and too the point.
    beautiful post.

    • mutuoconsensu – wow..
      ” Evolution can be a beautiful thing, interrupted with stops and fits of hesitation, shifts into reverse and the occasional grinding of gears”
      – that is beautiful all on it’s own! Did you write that before – or just now? Either way, loved it. So nice of you to visit and comment with such kind and beautiful words.

      • It was an old thought,
        finding life for the first time on your page.
        I’m no stranger to the evolutionary struggle myself. ;-)

        thank you for posting

  5. This is perfect. Like much. Truth … and we all walk that line. Appreciate the unique layout.

talk to me...

