9 years…

Thinking of my Dad today.  Hard to believe it’s been 9 years.  Still miss him every day.
I love this song….

You’re Still Here, Faith Hill

Here are the lyrics:

Thought I saw you today
You were standing in the sun then you turned away
And I know it couldn’t be
But my heart believed
Oh it seems like there’s something everyday
How could you be so far away
When you’re still here
When I need you you’re not hard to find
You’re still here
I can see you in my baby’s eyes
And I laugh and cry
You’re still here

I had a dream last night
That you came to me on silver wings
And I flew away with you on a painted skyAnd I woke up wondering what was real
Is what you see and touch or what you feel
‘Cause you’re still here
Oh you’re everywhere we’ve ever been
You’re still here

I heard you in a strangers laugh
And I hung around to hear him laugh again
Just once again
Thought I saw you today
You were standing in the sun then you turned away

And, also love this song by Faith, for my Dad…

There You’ll Be, Faith Hill

Tags: , , , ,

8 Comments to “9 years…”

  1. How wonderful it must be to miss your father. :)

  2. Peace be with you my friend.

  3. After I pushed “post comment” I thought twice about my statement, thinking it might have been insensitive.

    I certainly didn’t mean any disrespect.

    I simply meant that you are fortunate to have had a father, that had such qualities and virtue – that he is missed. Very rare in current times to have that type of father, and those kinds of memories.

    Once again, no disrespect or insensitivity intended.

    • Teresa – absolutely no offense taken. I completely understood your original comment… and agree whole-heartedly. I *am* one of the lucky ones… to have had a father like him in my life for as long as I had him. The missing him sucks. Big time. But not enough to overshadow the benefit.
      Thank you and please know that I am never one to be easily offended.

  4. This brought tears to my eyes and a melancholy rhythm to my heart. I feel your sadness and I know that you will be strong as you have been for the past nine years. It’s hard. I know. But as the song sang beautifully clear. They are still here…

    “And I woke up wondering what was real
    Is what you see and touch or what you feel”

    It is definitely what you feel. And as I came to realize on my own… it was my desire that kept him close, when I needed him most, yet I knew… there comes a time when we must let them fly, without fear that once we call on them they are never far from home. Blessings, I thought of you on the 24th and sent a silent prayer… E

talk to me...

