Spring Inquisition

Who told poor Robin that Spring had sprung?
What Judas could have sent her to this place
where waters are sure to freeze again? And,
when she learns there are no worms, no wonder
why her face will show as red as her breast.

~ smj

This song/vid just makes me laugh…
LOL
see?

(dedicated to Bob.  ;)

37 Comments to “Spring Inquisition”

  1. We have the poor things here as well – I have thought of buying some red wigglers in case of a re-freeze but these robins seem so fat that I think they have a private supply somewhere…

    (It wouldn’t surprise me after seeing the tree rat on my widow sill this morning trying to steal the seed balls I made for my cardinals and chickadees…I KNEW the birds could not have been eating that much by themselves!)

    M.L.

  2. iambic pentameter! haven’t heard that term since a forever ago!
    visiting your page just reminds me of
    how much i’ve forgotten and how much i still want to learn.

    great post! (Lawrence Welk? laughing along with you!)

    • well – this was the first poem I ever wrote were I consciously tried to use iambic pentameter. I’m learning all kinds of new things in this class… some things I’ve done for years but never knew the terms for them… and some are brand spanking new to me.
      Glad you got a smile from the vid too. =)

  3. Powerful! How you weave your words never cease to amaze me.

    • Cordieb – hello… =) and good to see you here. It’s been too long since I’ve read your blog… I need to go there soon. Thank you for your kind words and visit.

  4. This is wonderful, Samantha. I would love to have you link it to my Monday Morning Writing Prompt if you like. It’s just what’s happening in much of the world and you captured it in so few words.

  5. Oh that poor bird…wondering why it ever left sunny Mexico no doubt. :-)

  6. so powerful capture of your subject, love it.
    welcome in.

    A++
    :)

  7. Thanks so much for taking time to stop by. I appreciate the nice comment :) hugs!

    Ps…lol @ the vid :)

  8. Got the bird feeders out but the squirrels are getting fat. The cardinals are too skinny but maybe one of the squirrels will pop.

    • LOL Squirrels gotta eat too…. we have some woods behind us… and get all kinds of creatures in our yard…. For a while, raccoon was breaking into our garage and ripping into our dry dog food bag… til we put it in a tin… and, then, I caught him trying to open that… lol… he was a fat little fellow… so, I didn’t feel too sorry for him! =) Thanks for the read, Dan.

  9. Oh, this is right on. Love the vid. Dresses were awful, weren’t they … but cheerful.

  10. You are featured here today:
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/

    Well done. Poem on …
    … and thank you! :-)

  11. I found the link to your blog on Jamie Dedes’ blog. How sweet of her to feature your blog! Poor little robin! Perhaps she will find a worm before another freeze. Perhaps the sunshine and warmer air will come very soon. Blessings to you, Samantha…

    • Hi Carol… Welcome and thanks for letting me know you were here… =) Yes, it was very nice of Jamie to feature my poem on her blog. I love that it’s giving me the opportunity to meet others like yourself. =) And, yes.. poor robin… we had a little blizzard again… and, now it’s cold cold cold… happens every year here.. but, I know it won’t be long now til the real Spring deal is here. =) Take care.

  12. You’ll find more comments for you on my site today! Hooray! :-) Poem on and on ….

    • Was just there…. and really appreciate the feedback from folks and the way you presented the piece. You have an awesome blog, with a great group of readers. I’m glad to have joined in. =) Thank you again. You Rock. =)

  13. keep it up.

    Welcome joining poets rally week 40,
    all submissions will be fully represented by the end of the week,
    visit me for details today.. hope to see you in..

    Cheers.
    Happy Writing..
    xx

  14. Poor robin.
    Life can be so unfair sometimes.
    The video was too cool.
    That trio is more than welcome to sing me a lullaby. lol

  15. Funny video. Their outfits are the best.

talk to me...

