Vanity

I wanted it restored,
this old vanity of mine,
for its weathered wooden drawers
were full of memories and magic
that could transport me back
in time, to my selective past
before I grew up
all too fast.

One morning, years ago,
my vanity appeared.  Just
appeared. All white and gold
with mystical mirrors that could tilt
reality. And as I woke I tried to
focus on the sleepy image of a girl
who returned my stare
curiously.

It was a gift for my birthday.
The vanity I never knew I wanted,
but loved just the same, maybe more,
because that is what I do, and besides,
I finally had somewhere to sit
as I tried to transform
myself into anyone
else but me.

Oh, those mirrors, they saw it all!
Childhood dreams, nightmares, illusive
realities. Vain adolescent attempts to hide
myself, present myself, fool everyone,
including myself.  We grew up
together and then fell
apart. It probably had enough
of my drama.

Yes, I wanted it restored.
Not for vanity’s sake, but so
I could remember well once more,
the sleepy girl of yesteryear
and just how much she’s overcome,
and just how much she’s finally grown
into herself, myself,
stronger, with age.

~ smj

Gypsy, Fleetwood Mac

19 Comments to “Vanity”

  1. Interesting how we can connect with a piece of furniture and tie it to our memories. I like your choice of a “vanity”–it sounds quaint and YET–oooo all the things it carries via those mirrors! How vanity feeds vanity.
    Hello!

    • hi 47WB =). yes… vanity… its funny how, I never thought of why that piece of furnature was named that when I was younger.. that just was what it was called. The connection between memories and things is very interesting, isn’t i? Thanks for the read. =)

  2. I like this one a lot. It has a message that resonates. Blessings to you, Samantha…

  3. Wonderful poem…love the use of the vanity as the key element in the poem…perfect way to express those past moments and wishes…bravo!

  4. You are glorious, Sam. Thank you for a simple look through your looking glass.
    Very beautiful.

  5. I understand your feeling and you wrote about it beautifully!

  6. I love the nostalgia of this one and am glad you get to take a little trip back in time and visit with that lovely young girl.

  7. This is a triumph!

  8. Interesting Input.Well written!

  9. “…not for vanity’s sake, but so
    I could remember well once more,
    the sleepy girl of yesteryear
    and just how much she’s overcome,
    and just how much she’s finally grown
    into herself, myself,
    stronger, with age.”

    I love how (unlike a lot of people)
    you accept that little girl will always be a part of you…
    the experiences, maturity and growth
    belong to both of you
    a stronger you,
    stronger with age.

    thank you for sharing
    that beautiful look in the mirror!

talk to me...

