The Wall…

Today, I didn’t write a poem, or anything else for that matter (other than 5000 emails)…  but, have been listening to some favorite tunes while working…  This is one of my all time fav’s… has been for a very long time, and probably always will be.  So, I thought I’d share it here in it’s entirety – and without one of my personal poems cluttering it up…

The Wall

“I’m woven in a fantasy
I can’t believe the things I see
The path that I have chosen now
has led me to a wall
And with each passing day
I feel a little more like something dear was lost
It rises now before me
a dark and silent barrier between
All I am
and all that I would ever want be
It’s just a travesty
towering
marking off the boundaries my spirit
would eraseTo pass beyond is what I seek
I fear that I may be too weak
and those are few who’ve seen it through
to glimpse the other side
The promised land is waiting
like a maiden
that is soon to be a bride
The moment is a masterpiece
The weight of indecision’s in the air
standing   there
the symbol and the sum of all that’s me
It’s just a travesty
towering
blocking out the light and blinding me
I want to see

Gold and diamonds cast a spell
it’s not for me
I know it well
The riches that I seek
are waiting on the other side
There’s more that I can measure
in the treasures
of the love
that I can find
And though it’s always been with me
I must tear down the Wall
and let it be
All    I     am
and all that I was ever meant to be
in harmony
Shining   true
and smiling back at all who wait to cross
THERE IS NO LOSS

ohhhh”

– The Wall, Kansas

Tags: ,

8 Comments to “The Wall…”

  1. I never heard this one before ..it is beautiful ..thank you for sharing :-)

    • Well… it’s not something you will hear played on the radio these days… LOL… but, it’s a shame that you don’t! So, I’m glad you enjoyed this. I fell in love with Kansas the first time I heard my older brother crank them up when I was a kid. I would steal his 8-tracks frequently back then. (yeah, I’m old! lol). “Leftoverture” and “Point of Know Return” are two of my all time favorite albums of all time… better known for songs like, “Carry on my wayward son” (which is also a fav song), but so many other good songs on them too… like, “The Wall”.

  2. Thanks for the intro. This is moving …Ha! I remember eight-tracks for sure. I still have one – a collection of faves that my husband put together for me and that I keep as a memory even though I can no longer play it – Anyway, I don’t remember this song or group.

    Happy days …

  3. One of the most amazing melodies ever written!! And one of my favorite songs to sing too!!! You have great taste;)!!

  4. I love Kansas! I never heard this one! It is fantastic… a wonderful journey of words and music!

    • well then, I’m glad I posted this one… especially if you love Kansas. They have so many great songs that never did get much airplay, and certainly don’t now. But, there is something magical in many of them… right up your alley, enreal. =)

talk to me...

