Onion

Layers of me peel
with each passing tear and year
always changing me

and reality
holds fast for just one season,
one life, or death, one

glimpse of clarity
before the moment lapses
revealing new truths

~ smj


“Yours and mine, left and right
there’s still two sides to everyone.
You and I get on with life
and pray we find a better one.
You change and then,

You change again.
Turning like the wheel inside your head.

Overdrive we’re going life or death… “

~ Overdrive, Foo Fighters

10 Comments to “Onion”

  1. A very fine metaphor for that process of self-discovery.

  2. Hello,
    i like song and thanks my friend.
    Have a nice day.
    Soul.

  3. Absolutely beautiful. And a wonderful choice of music as well. The thoughts are staggeringly insightful and brilliantly done!

  4. I love the imagery.

    Onion->layers->peel->tears……season

    I’m a fan of the pun. I liked this one a lot.

    Rereading reveals more each time even in so small a space. Keep sharing. It’s good.

  5. i like the onion image a lot.. and i agree with charles..a very fine metaphor for that process of self-discovery we all go through..

talk to me...

