Where Love Still Remains

Some things, they say,
like certain favorite dishes,
are better after you let them stew,
and rest, bringing on deeper flavors to enjoy.

Sometimes, I’ve found,
it takes time, and a willingness
to try again, and again.  A strong desire
to not only not give up, but to also make things better.

Some people, I know,
like you, my love, are able to change
themselves, and other people’s minds,
like mine.  Surprisingly, against all odds, they move past
the past, to a new place where love still remains, and grows.

~ smj

To my honey… 
I’m glad you’re still the one…

Shania Twain – Still the One

10 Comments to “Where Love Still Remains”

  1. Lovely. Happy Valentine’s Day.

  2. It takes a while but when you have it measured out right – the brew is all the stronger and more mellow with time.

    I am so very glad you have found what you need to keep simmering together.

    Happy Valentines day to you,
    L.

  3. Wonderful…….. I hope that you had a most wonderful Valentines with your love :-)

  4. Thank you Jamie, ML, and Sue… Much appreciated. =)

    Yes… I wrote this for my husband for Valentines Day. We have been together for a long time, and gone through many phases… He never gave up on us, or me… even when I did. Somehow, things did a 180…. in spite of all kinds of added obstacles. Then, just to drive things home, he became my rock this last year when I needed him most.
    Old dogs can learn new tricks. We are both proof. ;)

    This is also the first I’ve written in a long time… Felt good to break the spell, AND with something positive…

  5. Beautifully inspiring and a much need piece of wisdom for me this morning. Thank you.

  6. this was beautiful….am glad the two of you remain….it is indeed wonderful having someone always be there for you and love you no matter the circumstance….beautiful line…where love still remains and grows….

  7. Dropped in to see what was new and spent an hour reading … your poems still connect and move me! It was really nice to see something new come up in my Reader from you! Add my well wishes to the many who support you in your journey! :)

    • Aww.. thank you Purple.. I’m so glad you stopped over, stayed a while, and enjoyed your visit. What a nice compliment. Thank you for the well wishes too. Much appreciated. =)

talk to me...

