Soul Food

Warm tea laced with honey
attempts to soothe my throat,
mind, and soul.  It’s a lot to ask
from tea and honey, I know.  So,
I’m thinking of baking apple bread.

~smj


Soothe Me, Sam & Dave

6 Comments to “Soul Food”

  1. Oh my gosh. This is so topical for me (though my pain is from tonsillitis). I literally have a hot cup of lemon, honey tea right next to me now! Apple bread sounds amazing too. :D Love the simplicity of this poem and you casual, yet classy use of conversational terms ‘I know,’ and ‘so’. Always a pleasure to read your writing.

    • Hello and thank you, Liana, for your kind words and visit. I am glad this little piece was timely for you. I do hope your throat is feeling better, as well. It’s funny, I was an avid coffee drinker for decades but when I’m not feeling well? Well, tea is just so much better.

  2. I wish I could like your comment on tea and coffee. I totally agree. Tea is soooo much better.

  3. I love the voice behind these lines. Really nice. —Chagall

talk to me...

